Your Library Card Enables you to Access Extensive Online Research Tools and Downloads
These include: Newspapers, magazines, academic journals, book reviews, biographies, health resources, business journals, ancestry databases, and much more. All databases are available, without charge, at the Amesbury Public Library. Even better – most of these databases may be accessed directly from your home or office computer. For downloadable ebooks, audiobooks, and music, visit our Books, Music & More page.
Gale Databases: Available to all Massachusetts residents! Includes Encyclopedia Britannica and Acdemic OneFile as well as biography, newspaper, health, cooking, art, and many other encyclopedias, databases and educational resources.
American News from NewsBank: Find information on topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Daily News of Newburyport, Eagle-Tribune, & USA Today.
NEW! Amesbury Digital Newspapers: Includes Valuations List 1825-1892, Town Work Valuations List 1893-1918, Villager 1849-1883, Amesbury and Salisbury Villager 1883-1891, Town Records 1642, Weekly News 1881-1884. Amesbury News 1849-1979.
How to use database tutorial HERE.
Amesbury Eats Database: Includes digitized content about food in Amesbury, such as menus, photographs and more.
Ancestry.com: Researching your family tree? Access over 6 BILLION genealogical and historical records (During the shutdown Ancestry is letting our patrons access the site from home by using this link. You will need your library barcode and PIN to login).
Consumer Reports: Read reviews and comparisons of consumer products and services. Access new and back issues at home and at the library with your library card!
Encyclopedia Britannica: Reference resources, an atlas, timelines, videos, primary sources, and the Kids’ multi-media encyclopedia.
Fold3: Access military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. You can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served. Use your Amesbury barcode to log in.
Freegal: Offers hundreds of thousands of FREE songs! Over 100 genres of music, and more than 50 record labels, all without having to download any software. All you need is your library card!
Gale Databases: Includes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and multimedia material. Useful for general research and school projects. To search general resources, enter what you’re looking for and click “Search”. Or scroll down and click for specific subjects and resources, such as health, business, literature, and many more.
Glassdoor: Helps you find a job at a company you will love. Read reviews, salaries, benefits from employees, interview questions from candidates.
HealthSteps: HealthSteps is a free web and app-based tool that allows individuals to search for health and social services available in Massachusetts. HelpSteps is designed to cater to users’ needs by location, language, services, nearest bus routes and much more. In 2019 the Boston Public Health Commission and Boston Children’s Hospital partnered with Massachusetts 211 and The Greater Boston Food Bank to expand the database to all of Massachusetts. The database now includes 11,000 medical and social agencies.
HeritageQuest: is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American.
Learning Express Library: Offers preparation and practice for professional certification, licensing, and aptitude tests in health care, civil service/government, law enforcement, firefighting, EMS, military, and real estate, among others. It also offers preparation and practice for academic exams such as the ACT and SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
Literary Reference Center: Teacher Reference Center, GreenFile, and EBSCO Research databases.
Little Pim: More from Mango Languages! Interactive language learning for ages 0-6 in ten languages.
Mango Languages: Learn everyday conversations at your own pace, at home or in the library. Over 40 foreign languages currently available as well as many and ESL courses. Mango also has an app you can download and use on the go!
NEW! NuWav: Need legal documents quickly and easily? With NuWav, you can handle most common legal issues with no assistance whatsoever; including divorce, bills of sale, leases, tenant/landlord agreements, medical documents, and much, much more.
NoveList: Trying to decide what to read next? NoveList offers book reviews, author read-alikes, lists of award-winning books, title lists for many authors, book discussion guides, and genre lists.
Pebble Go: Social Studies and Biographies for K – 2nd grade with easy picture navigation and simple text. If you are an Amesbury Resident use username: amesbury and password: read
ProQuest: Archives the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
Tumblebooks: eBooks for kids (picture and chapter)! Read alouds, read-alongs, and more.