Your library card enables you to access extensive online research tools
All databases are available, without charge, at the Amesbury Public Library. Even better – most of these databases may be accessed directly from your home or office computer. For downloadable eBooks & audiobooks visit our Digital Collections page and for music, visit our Music Downloads page.
America’s News: Find information on topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Daily News of Newburyport, Eagle-Tribune, Boston Herald, & USA Today via NewsBank.
Amesbury Digital Newspapers: Includes Valuations List 1825-1892, Town Work Valuations List 1893-1918, Villager 1849-1883, Amesbury and Salisbury Villager 1883-1891, Town Records 1642, Weekly News 1881-1884. Amesbury News 1849-1979.
Amesbury High School Yearbooks: Browse and/or search through any AHS yearbook from the years 1924-2010.
Amesbury Eats Database: Includes digitized content about food in Amesbury, such as menus, photographs and more.
Ancestry: Research your family tree with access over 6 BILLION genealogical and historical records (please note, remote use of this database from your home ended on December 31, 2021.)
Boston Globe: Search for articles from the Boston Globe 1980 – present via ProQuest.
Consumer Reports: Read reviews and comparisons of consumer products and services. Access new and back issues at home and at the library with your library card!
Creative Bug: Enjoy thousands of award-winning art and craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Learn sewing, quilting, paper crafting, knitting, crochet, art & design, and jewelry making. Find new ideas and instructions on food & home, holidays & party, and activities to do with your kids.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Reference resources, an atlas, timelines, videos, primary sources, and the Kids’ multi-media encyclopedia.
Fold3: Access military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. You can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served. Use your Amesbury barcode to log in.
Freegal: Offers hundreds of thousands of FREE songs! Over 100 genres of music, and more than 50 record labels, all without having to download any software. All you need is your library card!
Gale Databases: Provides access to encyclopedias, scholarly journals and articles, newspapers, magazines, recipes, genealogical records, and more! To search general resources, enter what you’re looking for and click “Search”. Or scroll down and click for specific subjects and resources, such as health, business, literature, and many more.
NEW Gale LegalForms: Create accurate, reliable legal documents easily. Includes Massachusetts-specific “attorney forms” – officially approved forms actually used by law firms. Many forms and documents are fillable available in Word and Adobe format.
HelpSteps: HelpSteps is a free web and app-based tool that allows individuals to search for health and social services available in Massachusetts. HelpSteps is designed to cater to users’ needs by location, language, services, nearest bus routes and much more. In 2019 the Boston Public Health Commission and Boston Children’s Hospital partnered with Massachusetts 211 and The Greater Boston Food Bank to expand the database to all of Massachusetts. The database now includes 11,000 medical and social agencies.
HeritageQuest: is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American.
Kidspeak: More from Transparent Language Online! Interactive language learning including puzzles, activities, and songs for children ages 6 and up.
Learning Express Library: Offers preparation and practice for professional certification, licensing, and aptitude tests in health care, civil service/government, law enforcement, firefighting, EMS, military, and real estate, among others. It also offers preparation and practice for academic exams such as the ACT and SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
Literary Reference Center: Teacher Reference Center, GreenFile, and EBSCO Research databases via EBSCO.
Little Pim: More from Mango Languages! Interactive language learning for ages 0-6 in ten languages.
Mango Languages: Learn everyday conversations at your own pace, at home or in the library. Over 40 foreign languages currently available as well as many and ESL courses. Mango also has an app you can download and use on the go!
NuWav: Create custom legal documents quickly and easily. With NuWav, you can handle most common legal issues with no assistance whatsoever; including divorce, bills of sale, leases, tenant/landlord agreements, medical documents, and much, much more.
NoveList Plus: Trying to decide what to read next? NoveList Plus and NoveList K-8 Plus offer book reviews, author read-alikes, lists of award-winning books, title lists for many authors, book discussion guides, and genre lists via EBSCO.
O’Reilly: Previously named Safari Books Online, the O’Reilly database offers unlimited access to 50K+ titles (including O’Reilly books in early release), 30K+ hours of video, case studies from top companies, learning paths, expert playlists, and more with nearly 1,000 topics to explore in technology and business. And with a range of content formats tailored to all levels so you can learn in the way that works best for you!
Pebble Go: Social Studies and Biographies for K – 2nd grade with easy picture navigation and simple text.
Peterson’s Career Prep: Tools and learning modules for creating resumes, selecting a career, and finding a college.
NEW Peterson’s Test Prep: Provides practice tests and test strategy information for anyone preparing for standardized test such as the SAT, ACT, and GRE.
Science Database: Academic journals, articles, and abstracts for students studying the applied and general sciences, via ProQuest.
NEW Transparent Language for Libraries: For language learners looking to build their vocabulary, practice their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and maintain what they learn. Courses and supplemental resources in 110+ languages.
Tumblebooks: eBooks for kids (picture and chapter)! Read alouds, read-alongs, and more.